How a 33-year-old North Carolina-based pharmacist spends:

We are sharing the spending secrets of one reader each week -- completely anonymously. Fill out the money diaries survey to have your voice heard! 

  • SALARY: I make $135,000 as a pharmacist working in North Carolina. I have asked for a raise previously. I didn't get the amount I asked for, but I did receive the raise.

  • SAVINGS: I have $30,000 in my savings account. 

  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend $1000 monthly on my mortgage. I contribute to a 401(k) and pay for my own healthcare plan. I also pay for Hulu and Spotify each month. 

  • INVESTING: I invest both through my 401(k) and on my own. It seems to be going just fine ... but the market is up right now

  • DEBT: Technically yes, I have a monthly mortgage payment. I pay a little over on my mortgage each month. It equals out to one extra month's payment each year.

  • SPENDING VICTORY:  I consider international travel to be my spending victory. 

  • SPENDING REGRET: I have no regrets!

  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: I would buy an investment property or an off-the-grid home in the county.

  • SIDE HUSTLE: I work as a PRN at an independent pharmacy. This adds about $6000 per year to my income. I also help low-income patients receive needed medications for free, which adds roughly $200 per month to my income.

  • CHARITY: I contributed most recently to Ocean Voyage Institute, which helps with the plastic clean up in our oceans.

  • GOALS: I want to work for myself by starting a business. I am also seeking financial freedom.