How a 26-year-old Long Island City-based private equity accountant spends:

We are sharing the spending secrets of one reader each week -- completely anonymously. Fill out the money diaries survey to have your voice heard! 

  • SALARY: I make $100,000 per year as a senior Accountant at a private equity firm. I also receive a 25 percent bonus. 

  • SAVINGS: I have $10,000 in savings right now. 

  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I pay $1,820 per month on a one bedroom that I split evenly with my boyfriend. We live in a brand new building in NYC with a lot of amenities, so this essentially covers the cost of access to an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, squash court, basketball court and gym. I contribute to my 401(k) but I don't have to pay for health insurance. My other monthly expenses include a $302 student loan payment thanks to refinancing it this year, a $127 metro card, and $15-30 at LOLA for menstrual products. 

  • INVESTING: I invest via my 401(k).  

  • SIDE HUSTLE: Flower arrangements, in its initial stages, now so not making any money yet.

  • SPENDING VICTORY:  A trip to Thailand, which also included a time spent component in terms of time on a plane. Best time of my life.

  • SPENDING REGRET: Every single bathing suit I have ever bought online. 

  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: Either a gallery or a house that I can convert into a gallery. I'm looking to create a Banksy style hotel/event space in which artists could display their work. But I want it to be somewhere in the woods like the Catskills or the Blue Mountains.

  • GOALS: Make enough to not have to go to an office and stare at a computer everyday (my eyes aren't getting any younger).