How a 27-year-old Washington, D.C.-based recruiter spends:

We are sharing the spending secrets of one reader each week -- completely anonymously. Fill out the money diaries survey to have your voice heard! 

  • SALARY: I make $78,000 per year working in recruiting and events based in Washington, D.C. I was able to get a 30% raise as a salary bump when I switched jobs. 

  • SAVINGS: I have $10,000 in savings right now. 

  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I pay $1435 in rent and about $120 in utilities and cable each month. I contribute to my 401(k). My employer pays for most of my healthcare costs, but I contribute to them as well. I spend roughly $200 per month on fitness-related expenses. 

  • INVESTING: I have a couple of investment accounts that are leftover from my college fund and I use the financial planner that my parents use. They are incredibly nice, and I trust them a lot so it works out really well. 

  • SIDE HUSTLE: Tutoring - I make $60 per month. 

  • SPENDING VICTORY:  Workout classes in general because they make me feel great. Also excited to move into an apt alone this summer, though it will definitely increase my monthly rent (by about $500!).

  • SPENDING REGRET: I could walk to work more regularly instead of taking shared Ubers, Lyfts, etc. That could save me around $150 per month, and the walk is only about half an hour. 

  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: A house or a condo.

  • GOALS: I would like to own property vs. rent and also save enough for my retirement (I don't even know exactly what that amount looks like, though).