How a 29-year-old New Jersey-based contracting manager spends:

  • SALARY: I make $62,500 per year as a contracting manager in New Jersey. When I received my promotion about a year ago I did ask for more. It was a big pay jump and I was happy with it. But I have heard the reason men make more money is because they ask. So I will not stop asking.
  • SAVINGS: I have less than $3,000 in savings right now. I put a $275,000 down payment on my home, so my savings are depleted right now. 
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: My mortgage payment each month is $1,700. I contribute to a 401(k) and pay for my own health care. I also pay $15 per month for Netflix, $15 each month for HBO, $70 per month for my gym membership, $60 per month for a Blue Apron subscription and $500 per month for my car payment. 
  • DEBT: A mortgage is a debt, but I pay off my credit cards each month.
  • INVESTING: I invest through a Roth IRA.
  • SPENDING VICTORY:  The best thing I ever spent money on was my home. It’s building equity, it’s an investment and it’s my home.
  • SPENDING REGRET: My spending regret is also my home. It’s scary: if something breaks, it’s on me.
  • CHARITY: The last charity I donated to was the Lupus Foundation of America. I do all the clothes pickups through them and the yearly walk.
  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: I would buy a reliable car for my significant other. His car troubles are stressful for us.
  • GOALS: I want to build my emergency fund back up. I literally spent all my money on my first home. 

- She Spends Issue 51

Spends_Divider.png