How a 32-year-old Indianapolis-based consultant spends:

  • SALARY: I make $60,000 a year as a consultant based in Indianapolis, Indiana. I have never asked for a raise. 
  • SAVINGS: I have about $4,000 in my savings account. 
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend $700 on my mortgage and $220 on utilities. I pay for my own health care and contribute to a 401(k) each month. I also pay $8 for Netflix, $11 for Hulu, $7 for Amazon Unlimited, $70 for cell service and my phone lease, and $400 for my car and insurance each month. 
  • DEBT: I am in debt. My student loan payments are $535. I've accumulated $4,000 of credit card debt and am making three times the minimum payment each month in an attempt to pay it down quickly.
  • INVESTING: I invest. I read the advice on the personal finance reddit and then used the tools available with my employer 401(k) to select a retirement end-date fund and an IRA.
  • SPENDING VICTORY: The best things I have spent money on has always been travel. I never regret money spent on these experiences. I'm a big deal hunter and I take advantage of credit card points and miles to make it more affordable to travel frequently.
  • SPENDING REGRET: I impulse buy too much food each week at the grocery store and feel it is wasteful to both my finances and the environment.
  • CHARITY: The last charity I donated to was Planned Parenthood.
  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: I would pay off my mortgage and car loans. 
  • GOALS: I want to build up a six- to 12-month emergency fund, pay off my credit cards and keep them paid off monthly, and make additional payments on my student loans to pay them off faster.

- She Spends / Issue #44

Spends_Divider (1).png