How a 25-year-old Los Angeles-based consumer insights senior associate spends:

  • SALARY: I make $75,000 per year as a consumer insights senior associate in Los Angeles. I have never asked for a raise. 
  • SAVINGS: I have $14,000 between two savings accounts (one is attached to my checking and one is for long-term savings).
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend $1,050 per month on rent. I contribute to a 401(k), but I’m still on my parents’ healthcare plan. I pay $115 per month for ClassPass. I use my parents’ or friends’ streaming services. 
  • INVESTING: I have an investment account but currently it's all invested in ETFs. I have some unallocated funds that are set aside for company-specific investments but I don't know where to start. 
  • DEBT: I have a car payment, that counts right? I pay about $300 a month. 
  • SPENDING VICTORY: The best thing I have spent money was my car! It's the first big purchase I made and really made me feel like an adult (even though dealing with car salespeople made me want to scream!).
  • SPENDING REGRET: I regret blowing through my allowance in college with trendy clothing purchases.
  • CHARITY: The last place I donated to was Girls on the Run. It’s a great organization empowering young girls! I'm on a fundraising board and LOVE IT!
  • IF I WON THE LOTTERY: I would buy out the existing loan I have on my car, pay for business school, maybe buy some land and build a house (one of my goals in life is to design my home).

- She Spends / Issue #42

Spends_Divider (1).png