How a 29-year-old New York-based STEM program assistant spends:

  • SALARY: I make the equivalent of $51,000 per year working as a STEM program assistant. I’ll only be at the gig for seven months, though. They had originally offered me $25 an hour and I asked for $28. It's a contract position that started in mid-November and ends in mid-June 2018. I lost my previous nonprofit job in July due to funding cuts so I'm really happy to be back to work.
  • SAVINGS: I have about $2,200 in savings. I feel very proud that I never touched it while I was unemployed.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend nothing currently on rent. My former partner owns our apartment. We've broken up and he's about to move out of the country, and I'll continue to live here rent-free for a while. I've never had a 401(k) before, but my new job requires that all employees have one, so I started to contribute in November. I have inexpensive health insurance through my employer as well. 
  • DEBT: I have just over $21,000 worth of student loan debt. I started paying it off in 2012 when I moved in with my partner and stopped paying rent, and I've made a sizable dent in it. I pay about $385 toward it a month, slightly over the minimum payment.
  • INVESTING: I have not yet started investing.
  • SPENDING VICTORY: I bought a leather jacket on Cyber Monday four years ago. It's one of my favorite things and I get so many compliments on it. 
  • SPENDING REGRET I spend way too much money on food, eating out and delivery. Starting to make meals regularly is my big goal for 2018. 
  • CHARITY: I most recently donated to the LGBT Community Center in New York.
  • GOALS: I want to own real estate in New York one day.

- She Spends / Issue #40

Spends_Divider (1).png