How a 31-Year-Old Texas-based Assistant Event Planner Spends:

  • SALARY: I make $43,000 as an event planner based in Texas. I’ve asked for a raise twice. The first time I got 25 cents more per hour. The second time got $3 more an hour after a year of no response from management.
  • SAVINGS: I have $2,100 in my liquid savings account, or emergency fund. I also have $30,000 in IRAs and bonds.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I pay $1,025 per month for my apartment, which is just three miles from work. I contribute to my 401(k) and health insurance each month. I also pay for Netflix and Hulu.
  • DEBT: I am in debt right now, but I’m working toward paying it off by using auto-drafts.
  • INVESTING: I have about $30,000 invested in the markets. My father happens to be a financial planner, which helps me a lot.
  • SPENDING VICTORY: I spent $220 to rescue my puppy. The main reason she is worth every penny is because she makes my life better. She is always there when I need someone. Having a dog has just given me something to live for, and it sounds dramatic, but when life has me really down, I remember that nothing can be so bad with that lil mama around. She also gives me easy ways to meet people and make human interactions at dog parks or on walks.
  • SPENDING REGRET: I was my sister's Maid of Honor for an extravagant wedding; they literally had drones filming the ceremony. The bridesmaid dress was $140, the shoes were $100. But that's just the start of it. I threw an engagement party where all the wedding party planned to pitch in $20 to $30 each. I got $20 total and it was from the groom covering for one of his lame groomsmen. There were 14 members of the wedding party. The MANDATORY bachelorette party was a trip to Cabo San Lucas, which cost me close to $750 plus I missed work and had to get a passport. Her wedding, which happened 18 months after her engagement, cost me well over $1,800.
  • CHARITY: The last charity I contributed to was the Immigrants, We Get the Job Done Coalition.
  • SIDE HUSTLE: My side hustle is flipping cars. I just pay for the car and my stepbrother fixes and sells them for more money. I get a return on investment and he gets money for his labor.
  • GOALS: I want to someday own a house with a huge tub. I want to be able to save enough money to get there.

- She Spends / Issue #19

null