How A 29-year-old U.K.-based Business Analyst Spends:

  • SALARY: I make $58,500 per year as a business analyst. I asked for a raise before. It was tough and a little awkward because I was a young woman in such a male-dominated technology company, but it paid off!
  • SAVINGS: I have about $2,600 in a high interest savings account earmarked for buying a house.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: My company pays for private insurance. I split rent for an apartment with my boyfriend. We both pay $870 per month. I share a Netflix account with my boyfriend and brother so I pay $6.50 for my part of the family subscription. I have Apple Family Sharing with my boyfriend and his brother so I pay the same for my part of that. I pay $130 for a gym membership each month. I pay $5 for a 1Password subscription. It’s a program that memorizes all of your passwords for you!   
  • DEBT: I am in debt, and I’m working to pay it off right now. I recently switched my credit card debt to a 0% balance transfer card with a great deal and am trying to aggressively yet comfortably pay that down every month.
  • SPENDING VICTORY: A recent spending victory for me has been learning to drive. I know I'm late to the party but I've always lived in such a big city that driving wasn't an essential skill! It's cost me nearly $2,500 but the doors it can open in terms of property, jobs, hobbies (I'm a major horse obsessive and riding is my life) is worth every penny. It pained me to part with so much money in one go, but I'm thinking this is a massive investment in my life so it certainly won't be money wasted.
  • SPENDING REGRET: My main spending regret is always clothes, which I know isn't one big disastrous purchase but it does add up to a lot some months! I'm trying to work on being less of an emotional shopper, I have the worst habit of thinking a new sweater or something will be the thing that makes a bad day good. I adopted a capsule wardrobe approach after being majorly inspired by Caroline from Un-fancy and Lee from Style Bee but sometimes I fall off the wagon hard and rush buy something I don't really need. This month, I spent $50 on some cute colorful print espadrilles that I thought would jazz up my life without any thought to the fact that I live in a city where rain is the default weather and those white shoes would be melted dirty messes in one wear! 
  • SIDE HUSTLE: I do not have a side hustle.
  • CHARITY: In money, I am a Guardian newspaper supporter and I also give monthly to an animal rescue charity. In time, I volunteer with two charities in a variety of ways.
  • GOALS: Short term, I'm striving to finally pay off my credit cards. I've had a lot of health problems lately as I have autoimmune issues and the unexpected sudden need to see a lot of specialists has created a lot of debt I want to pay off. I recently opened a long term 0% balance transfer account that I am paying down as my current credit card had a pretty high APR that meant my payments were basically just covering interest. Long term, my goal is to finally buy a house. I've bounced from rental to rental but I really want to have a place to fully call mine, that I can decorate however I want and that has some little patch of greenery that I can enjoy when the sun finally shows its face. While I know they can be risky, I always envy those who can talk and navigate money investments so confidently. I don't think I'll ever be someone to fully play the stock market, but I would love to know more about how I can make my money work for me. 

- She Spends / Issue #16

Spends_Divider.png