How A Pittsburgh-based Project Manager Spends:

  • SALARY: I make $36,000 per year as a project manager for a Pittsburgh-based marketing firm. I have not yet asked for a raise.
  • SAVINGS: I have $7000 in savings right now. I tend to be cautious with my money. It's not that I don't spend it, I just like to have a nice cushion in case anything were to happen. One thing I do tend to splurge on is food though, which is definitely my worsespending habit. I love to eat out, which is not cheap.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: Right now I pay $500 for rent. I'm about to move in with my boyfriend, so that is going to change. Being v. transparent about money with your partner is a #majorkey so it will be interesting to see what happens. Beyond rent, I contribute to my 401k each month. My workplace doesn't really have an HR department, so I basically just put 5% into my 401K and call it a day. My employer covers my healthcare, luckily. I also pay for Netflix and Hulu each month. 
  • DEBT: I am in debt. It's student loans, thankfully only federal (I am blessed with a fairly low interest rate). I pay monthly and use direct deposit (so I won't forget and plus you receive 0.5% off your interest rate). Although I have no trouble paying them, the idea of having that hang over my head for the next eight years is a bit daunting.
  • SPENDING VICTORY: This one is tough for me.  I tend to be very cautious with my money so it's been awhile since I've spent money on anything out of the ordinary. Back in December my boyfriend & I splurged on dinner out, beers and Pittsburgh Penguins tickets. It was my first game and it was a ton of fun. Even though it ended up being an expensive night, it was worth it. It's fun to go all out sometimes, especially when I tend to avoid dropping large sums of money. 
  • SPENDING REGRET: I love getting free stuff (who doesn't?) so on several occasions I have been roped in to purchasing monthly subscriptions once the free trial ends. It's nothing major at first, but then I don't want to give it up so there's an extra $10 a month I end up spending on streaming TV shows and music.
  • CHARITY: The last charity I contributed to was Planned Parenthood.
  • GOALS: My goal short-term is to save up for a trip to Ireland with my family & boyfriend next year. I've been wanting to travel more since graduating college, but it was difficult to do when just starting a career. Both because of money and vacation days. I'm planning on starting monthly installments fairly soon so it seems like less of a drain on my bank account when the time comes.  My long-term goal is to buy a new car within the next two or so years. I'm driving a 2000 Honda Accord at the moment, which works great for now but may not last for much longer without needing major repairs.  I want to be able to put a decent down payment on a car and not worry so much about a monthly payment.

- She Spends / Issue #10