How a 25-year-old Dallas, Texas-based web analyst spends

  • SALARY: I make $85,000 as a web analyst at a retail company in Dallas, Texas. In early 2016, I was on track for a promotion and a big raise. The promotion fell through and so did the big raise. During my review, I listed the reasons why I believed I was worth more. This was probably the most eye-opening moments of my short career and resulted in me getting a new (better) job with an improved work/life balance and a 50% increase in salary.
  • SAVINGS: I have $5,000 saved in cash.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend $1,050 per month on rent. I contribute to my 401(k) and I pay for health insurance. Spotify Premium ($10), ClassPass ($55) and my phone ($40) are my three recurring monthly payments. My dog goes to daycare once a week, but I purchase a package of 20 days ($300) once every three months or so. Also, I've been walking to work, so I'm saving about $100 a month by not driving very often.
  • INVESTING: I have $150,000 saved in investments. My 2016 goal was to dip my toe into investing and put $100 a month into my portfolio. I used Acorns that first year, and I really enjoyed the interface and ease of use. Since then, I've increased my monthly deposit into my investments and I have transitioned to Vanguard index funds now that I'm investing more.
  • DEBT: I am not in debt. 
  • SPENDING VICTORY: It's cheesy, but my dog is the best thing I've spent money on. He's a pound pup that I adopted three years ago, and I happily spend around $2,000 a year on him (daycare, healthcare, etc.). He's helped me train for multiple marathons and ran his first half-marathon earlier this year. Basically, he's the best.
  • SPENDING REGRET: Most recently, I paid $110 for Harry Styles concert tickets from a guy on Craigslist. Too bad he sold the same ticket to multiple people..It was my first time getting scammed on Craigslist, and it was a major bummer.
  • CHARITY: I most recently donated to the Friends of the Katy Trail, the nonprofit that maintains a hike/bike trail through the center of Dallas. I've trained for three marathons there, so it was past time for me to start contributing.
  • SIDE HUSTLE: My aunt runs a farm stand in the Chesapeake Bay area, and I help her with all things digital marketing. It's really rewarding seeing a small business flourish and helping her brainstorm ways to attract new customers.
  • GOALS: If I won the lottery, I would buy a two bedroom condo/townhome with a little yard. I would pay cash for it, because I'm not about debt, and then I would look into renting out the other bedroom.
Spends_Divider+(1).png