How a 23-year-old Brooklyn-based research analyst spends:

  • SALARY: I make $53,000 per year working as a research analyst in New York. I never asked for a raise, but my boss offered one.
  • SAVINGS: I have $14,400 in my savings account right now.
  • MONTHLY EXPENSES: I spend $1,695 each month on rent. I pay for my own healthcare insurance and I contribute to a 401(k) each month. I also pay for Amazon Prime and Spotify Premium.
  • DEBT: I am in debt. I am making regular payments on my student loans to pay it off. 
  • SPENDING VICTORY: My boyfriend and I rented a cute cozy cabin for a long weekend with no WiFi or cell service. I spent $355 in total. The cabin, split with my boyfriend, cost $610 and we spent about $100 on groceries (which we also split). This was my first real vacation I've ever paid for and I saved up over the winter so we could go on this trip together.
  • SPENDING REGRET: I honestly can't think of any! I'm a Libra and I tend to overthink things. So any big purchases I've made I've spent a lot of time researching and deciding whether it's really worth it. 
  • CHARITY: The last charity I contributed to was Planned Parenthood. 
  • SIDE HUSTLE: I babysit on the side to pick up extra cash. 
  • GOALS: I'm in the process of applying to PhD programs, so I'm trying to save up enough money to help pay for living expenses once I no longer have a full-time job. Long term, I'd like to pay off my student debt more aggressively once I hopefully finish my doctoral degree. 

- She Spends / Issue #26

Spends_Divider (1).png